There are lots of aspects most people find to be very confusing about driving without license in Nevada law. This has made them to be ignorant about legal stipulations in this aspect. The major aim of this post is to explain Nevada law with regards to driving without a license.
According to Nevada law, drivers are expected to have driving licences that are valid and current. In a situation when an individual doesn’t have a driving license, the law sees it as misdemeanour and there are several punishments that usually follow such as:
- Spending about 6 months in jail
- Fine of $1,000
This case isn’t treated in a similar way as the one above even though you may still get a fine of $1,000 and jail term of 6 months. If the suspension of such license is DUI – related, you could face twice the amount of time such license remains suspended. If the licence was revoked, you are likely to face an additional 12 months (1 year) of revocation before another license will be issued to you.
It was difficult for people under such category to obtain valid driver license in the past. However, all of these have changed in recent times as undocumented immigrants can be issued Driver Authorization Cards provided they can show their proof of identity.
According to the laws of Nevada, licences are of various categories and these issued to individuals on the basis of their ages. The condition that these drivers’ licences are issued is that they will have to pass their driving tests.
For instance, people who are 15 years and above (but not up to 16 years) will be issued learner’s permit. Those between 16 and 17 years of age are issued restricted license while regular license is issued to people who are 18 years old and above.
If you don’t remember to carry a driver’s license with you, there are areas in Nevada where such charges can be dropped. You will only be required to show proof that you have a valid licence.
There are also times when you may be allowed by the court to obtain your driver’s license within a specified period of time. It is possible for your case to be dismissed especially when you follow the directives outlined by the court. However, if your driver’s license expires and you fail to renew it, you may likely face punishments as stipulated by the law.
Driving without license is risky even though it doesn’t lead to the deportation of an individual. Immigrants without the right documentation can still face deportation though. It is advised that you hire the services of an experienced attorney even if the case is very minor.