Child pornography laws in Nevada are very broad. Under this law, the possession, distribution and production of child pornography is strictly prohibited.
Producing child pornography is prohibited under NRS 200.720 and NRS 200.710. It does not matter whether the minor consented to the production of the pornography. It is a “strict liability” crime, meaning even if you did not know the minor was a minor (meaning 18 years of age) the penalty is the same. Ignorance of age is not a defense.
If a minor is enticed or encouraged towards engaging in sexual conduct and filmed or photographed in this conduct obviously, this would also be considered unlawful in Nevada.
Actually producing pornography is a category A felony. Punishments include up to life in prison and fines up to $100,000.
Under NRS 200.730, this is the intentional distribution, advertisement or preparation of material items showing a minor engaging in or simulating sexual conduct
This crime is a category B felony and can be punished by prison 1 to 15 years. There is also a potential fine up to $15,000.
Under NRS 200.730, simply being in possession of child pornography is unlawful. If it is a first time offense, the felony is a category B and punishable in prison from 1 to 6 years and fines up to $5,000. If it is a second offense, is a category A felony and is punishable from 1 year to life in prison.
Any offense related to child pornography is considered a sex crime. Persons convicted of these crimes are referred to as sex offenders. In Nevada, convicted sex offenders are required to complete a registration process with the sex offender registry.