Nevada Laws for ``Non-support of a spouse, former spouse or child``

Issues related to non – support of a spouse, child or former spouse in Nevada seem to be increasing on a daily basis. According to experts, these problems are likely to bring about domestic violence in homes which can in turn affect the development of the child in the long run. This is why there are laws to ensure that these problems are addressed in the most appropriate ways.

 

The major aim of this post is to reveal facts about laws which have been stipulated to address problems that are related to Nevada laws for lack of support for spouse, child or former spouse.

Legal Definition

The crime of non – support of a spouse, child or former spouse is committed when you fail to make payments (alimony) that have been ordered by the court to such individuals. It is a monthly payment which a spouse makes to an ex – spouse based on court directives.

 

Child support is an amount paid for the upkeep of the children on periodic intervals. The amount and time of payment is also based on court directives.

Factors that can influence the amount for spousal support

Just as explained above, there are various factors that the court usually considers before ordering that you should pay a given amount to your ex spouse or child. Some of them will be listed below:

 

  • Your standard of living during such marriage
  • How long the marriage has lasted
  • Each of the spouse’s financial condition
  • Health, income, age and earning capacity of the spouses
  • Monetary value of each spouse’s property

Lipp Law Firm

null

What are the Penalties?

There are punishments or penalties for failure to make payments ordered by the court over a given period of time by a defendant. These do vary as the criminal history and amount being owned for such support will be considered.

 

If the amount being owed by the defendant isn’t up to $10,000, it can be seen as a case of misdemeanor. This can attract maximum jail term of 6 months and fine of around $1,000.

 

However, when the defendant is owing over $10,000 (or equal to $10,000), such can be categorized as category C felony. There is a punishment of 1 – 5 years imprisonment and a fine of about $10,000.

 

Second violation penalties

For second violation, the punishments are the same as above but the amount to be owned by the defendant before such a crime can be seen as misdemeanor is $5000. Also, it will be seen as category C felony when the amount owed is over $5,000 (or equal to $5,000).

How can an attorney help?

You will need an attorney in order to avoid being convicted. Such a professional will help to convince the court that:

  • You have been unemployed for some time
  • You haven’t been able to meet up with such a payment due to increasing debt, excessive spending or even some legal obligations

Child custody penalties

Matters related to child custody are usually addressed in family courts. You will need the help of an experienced family attorney that can provide concrete evidence for any charge to be dismissed.